With the recycle bin, deleted items can initially be restored by users without the need to involve a SharePoint administrator. This provides an instant method of restoration for SharePoint items. The recycle bin function consists of 2 stages.
The link is then available from the “Site Contents” page. Alternatively, this can be accessed by adding “/_layouts/15/Recyclebin.aspx” to the end of your sites root URL.
If an item is deleted from the 1st stage recycle bin, it is moved to the 2nd stage where a site collection administrator can still restore it up
to a specified number of days. Items in this stage count towards the total size if any site quota is set.
From the “Site Collection Administration” section click “Recycle Bin”.
Alternatively, this can be accessed by adding “/_layouts/15/AdminRecyclebin.aspx” to the end of your sites root URL. Items
in this stage do not count towards any site quotas if set.
Settings for the recycle bin are controlled at the web application level. This means the any changes to the default configuration need to be carried out via “Central Administration”.
To access the settings, from “Central Administration” click “Application Management” > “Manage Web Applications”, highlight the desired web application and from the Ribbon click “General Settings”
The “Delete items in the Recycle Bin” figure is a set number of days for both stages, if an item is deleted from the 1st stage after 15 days it will only be available in the 2nd stage for a further 15.
This means that with a site quota of set of 500MB, 250MB is allocated as storage for the 2nd stage recycle bin making a total space requirement of 750MB. The percentage range for the “live site quota” needs to be a figure between “1-500%“. Obviously this content lives in the same content database as the site collection so you need to consider this when estimating your capacity requirements.
Points of note
If the 2nd stage recycle bin reaches its quota limit, older items will be overwritten to accommodate items moved from the 1st stage.
If a site is deleted, it will skip the 1st stage recycle bin and go straight to the 2nd.
A user will only see items they have deleted in the recycle bin.
There are no PowerShell cmdlets to configure the recycle bin.
If the recycle bin functionality is turned off, items are permanently deleted and can only be retrieved from a backup.
If you have not enabled site quotas, the 2nd stage recycle bin will have no space limitations.